DSP 2000-2009

Note: I get commissions for purchases made through links in this post.

Here are the second 10 years (2000-2009) of games that were awarded the Deutscher Spiele Preis (DSP), which is a prize given to a game considered to be a true “gamer’s game” each year.

Only the first game in the list was actually given the award. The other 9 games show their relative positions based on votes cast. See the official DSP site (German) for more information.

Many games have links to Amazon where you can see pricing and availability.


1st: Taj Mahal – Reiner Knizia

2nd: Torres – Wolfgang Kramer & Michael Kiesling

3rd: Vinci – Philippe Keyaerts

4th: Princes of Florence (Die Fürsten von Florenz) – Wolfgang Kramer & Richard Ulrich

5th: La Cittá – Gerd Fenchel

6th: Citadels (Ohne Furcht und Adel) – Bruno Faidutti

7th: Web of Power (Kardinal & König) – Michael Schacht

8th: Carolus Magnus – Leo Colovini

9th: Aladdin’s Dragons – Richard Breese

10th: Merchants of Amsterdam (Die Kaufleute von Amsterdam) – Reiner Knizia


1st: Carcassonne – Klaus-Jürgen Wrede

2nd: Medina – Stefan Dorra

3rd: Genoa (Traders of Genoa, Die Händler von Genua) – Rüdiger Dorn

4th: Evo – Philippe Keyaerts

5th: Capitol – Alan R. Moon & Aaron Weissblum

6th: Cartagena – Leo Colovini

7th: San Marco – Alan R. Moon & Aaron Weissblum

8th: Babel – Hagen Dorgathen & Uwe Rosenberg

9th: Java – Wolfgang Kramer & Michael Kiesling

10th: Das Amulett – Alan R. Moon & Aaron Weissblum


1st: Puerto Rico – Andreas Seyfarth

2nd: TransAmerica – Franz-Benno Delonge

3rd: Dschunke – Michael Schacht

4th: Villa Paletti – Bill Payne

5th: Mexica – Wolfgang Kramer & Michael Kiesling

6th: Nautilus – Brigitte Ditt & Wolfgang Ditt

7th: Goldland – Wolfgang Kramer

8th: Pueblo – Wolfgang Kramer & Michael Kiesling

9th: Pirate’s Cove – Daniel Stahl & Paul Randles

10th: Pizarro & Co. (Magellan) – Thomas Lehmann


1st: Amun Re – Reiner Knizia

2nd: Alhambra – Dirk Henn

3rd: Clans – Leo Colovini

4th: Paris Paris – Michael Schacht

5th: Domaine – Klaus Teuber

6th: Fische Fluppen Frikadellen – Friedemann Friese

7th: Mare Nostrum – Serge Laget

8th: New England – Alan R. Moon & Aaron Weissblum

9th: Coloretto – Michael Schacht

10th: Edel, Stein & Reich – Reinhard Staupe


1st: Saint Petersburg – Bernd Brunnhofer & Michael Tummelhofer

2nd: San Juan – Andreas Seyfarth

3rd: Goa – Rüdiger Dorn

4th: Attika – Marcel-André Casasola Merkle

5th: Ingenious (Einfach Genial) – Reiner Knizia

6th: Ticket To Ride – Alan R. Moon

7th: Maharaja: Palace Building in India – Wolfgang Kramer & Michael Kiesling

8th: Fearsome Floors – Friedemann Friese

9th: Hansa – Michael Schacht

10th: The Bridges of Shangri-La – Leo Colovini


1st: Louis XIV – Rüdiger Dorn

2nd: Niagara – Thomas Liesching

3rd: Manila – Franz-Benno Delonge

4th: Ubongo – Grzegorz Rejchtman

5th: Himalaya – Régis Bonnessée

6th: Around the World in 80 Days – Michael Rieneck

7th: Shadows Over Camelot (Schatten über Camelot) – Bruno Cathala & Serge Laget

8th: Jambo – Rüdiger Dorn

9th: The Scepter of Zavandor (Das Zepter von Zavandor) – Jens Drögemüller

10th: That’s Life! (Verflixxt) – Wolfgang Kramer & Michael Kiesling


1st: Caylus – William Attia

2nd: Thurn and Taxis – Andreas Seyfarth & Karen Seyfarth

3rd: Antike – Mac Gerdts

4th: Blue Moon City – Reiner Knizia

5th: Mesopotamia – Klaus-Jürgen Wrede

6th: Elasund – The First City (of Catan) – Klaus Teuber

7th: Masons (Mauerbauer) – Leo Colovini

8th: Hacienda – Wolfgang Kramer

9th: Augsburg 1520 – Karsten Hartwig

10th: Rum & Pirates – Stefan Feld


1st: The Pillars of the Earth – Michael Rieneck & Stefan Stadler

2nd: Notre Dame – Stefan Feld

3rd: Vikings – Michael Kiesling

4th: Yspahan – Sébastien Pauchon

5th: Zooloretto – Michael Schacht

6th: Arkadia – Rüdiger Dorn

7th: Imperial – Mac Gerdts

8th: Leonardo Da Vinci – Acchittocca, Antonio Tinto, Flaminia Brasini, Stefano Luperto, & Virginio Gigli

9th: Thebes – Peter Prinz

10th: Colosseum – Wolfgang Kramer & Markus Lübke


1st: Agricola – Uwe Rosenberg

2nd: Stone Age – Bernd Brunnhofer & Michael Tummelhofer

3rd: Cuba – Michael Rieneck & Stefan Stadler

4th: In the Year Of The Dragon – Stefan Feld

5th: Tribune: Primus Inter Pares – Karl-Heinz Schmiel

6th: Hamburgum – Mac Gerdts

7th: Galaxy Trucker – Vlaada (Vladimír) Chvátil

8th: Keltis – Reiner Knizia

9th: Witch’s Brew – Andreas Pelikan

10th: Metropolys – Sébastien Pauchon


1st: Dominion – Donald X. Vaccarino

2nd: Le Havre – Uwe Rosenberg

3rd: Pandemic – Matt Leacock

4th: Finca – Ralf zur Linde & Wolfgang Sentker

5th: Small World – Philippe Keyaerts

6th: Valdora – Michael Schacht

7th: Diamonds Club – Rüdiger Dorn

8th: Through The Ages – Vlaada (Vladimír) Chvátil

9th: Sherwood Forest – Nils Finkemeyer

10th: Fauna – Friedemann Friese

One thought on “Deutscher Spiele Preis 2000s

Comments are closed.